Dear Stepmom

I’m not your kid. You’re not my mom. Still, you save my ass. I hope you know how grateful I am. I’ve told you in person, but sometimes I’m not sure you really hear it deep down. You’re still stuck in the past sometimes, stuck in the days when I used to scream how much I hated you. Understandable I suppose. But things have changed since then. You’ve proved how invested you are in my dad and in me. He’s a better man with you around. Thank you for that. And thanks for everything you’ve done for me personally. Seriously, you’ve saved my ass more times than I can count. And you’ve probably intervened with Dad when I didn’t even know about it. I’m glad he has you to grow old with. I’m glad that you and I stuck it out through the bad years. Thank you, too, for understanding where I was coming from. You knew why I was so hurt. Why I couldn’t like you. If only you’d met my dad after he left my mom, it would have been easier. At least I think so. I still wish things had started differently but I’m glad about where things are now. I am a stronger person for what happened. I have forgiven you and Dad, too. But sometimes I wonder if you’ve forgiven yourself?

Your Stepdaughter

~ by Jacquelyn Fletcher on April 9, 2009.

8 Responses to “Dear Stepmom”

  1. Great letter. There are too few thank you letters now days!

  2. Thank you for your words. I hope to hear the same one day!

  3. Holy Crud I bawled when I saw this…really bawled

  4. This is such a great letter.

  5. Anyone in the position I now find myself in would be eternally grateful to see this letter. Thank you for posting this, and bless you. I’m confident she has heard you, every time. Please realize what your words have meant to those of us still in the more challenging times.

  6. ow thats nice

  7. Applause to you for writing this letter! I hope you have sent it to her. 🙂

  8. OMG, I just hope I can get to the point one day where that is what either of my stepdaughters will say to me. You must have had some powerfully strong influences on your life to teach you to embrace reality and see the good in it like this. Great job.

Leave a comment