Dear Teenage Stepdaughter – Boxing Day 2011

We have had an up and down relationship over the years.  You moved in with us and your step/half siblings when you were 11.  It was rough here and there but mostly we got along.  You finally had a mother figure you could trust emotionally and physically.  Then you became a teenager and started spending more time with your mother.  She worked on souring your relationship with your father and promoting disharmony with me.  When you were 14 you wanted to move back in with your mum.  We let you do so against our better judgement.  Now at 15, almost 16, you hate me and are ambivalent towards your father.  We weren’t sure you were going to come to Christmas Day here with us this year but you did.  We let you know that you could stay over too if you liked and to decide on the day.  I was apprehensive in the morning wondering how it was going to be.  Christmas with 6 kids is stressful enough without the moody, bitchy, ungrateful teenager you are at the moment.  I am writing this letter to tell you THANK YOU!  You were wonderful, it felt like old times.  I could see that you were having a good day and we so enjoyed the time that we all got to spend together as a family.  I know we probably won’t see you again for a while, even though you only live 5 minutes down the road.  We have told you our door is always open whenever you wish to come and visit/stay over.  I hope we do start to see each other more and am now feeling quietly confident, after yesterday, that with time we will get back on track again.  It’s a start my sweetheart.  You didn’t hate me yesterday so maybe it will become a permanent feeling?  I’m crossing all my fingers and toes that it does as I love you so much, you are more than my stepdaughter to me, you ARE my daughter.

Love from your Stepmother xxx

~ by Stepfamily Letter Project on December 27, 2011.

4 Responses to “Dear Teenage Stepdaughter – Boxing Day 2011”

  1. I am so happy for you. Best of luck. Hope it works out and when she gets home and tells her mom about the wonderful time she had, her mother does not rewrite the memory. That is what always happened to us. I’m praying you guys make it.

  2. What a great letter! I love this!!!

  3. Where’s the ‘like’ button??

    I wish my stepmom would have let me know — I know I was bad and moody — it wasn’t my mom’s fault. I treated her just as badly.. So happy that you had a great ‘stress’ free day!

  4. I really needed to read this today.

    This was just so positive, good job!

Leave a Reply

 
