Dear Stepdad

Dear Stepdad,

Thank you and I love you.

If I could say one phrase to you for the rest of my life it would be that. You have inspired me in ways you can’t even imagine and I don’t give you nearly enough praise for that. I also don’t tell you how much I love you for all of the things you’ve done for me in the past 20 years.

I am a great stepparent because of you. I don’t know if I’d be able to say that had you not been in my life the way you have.

I don’t know how you managed to not ship me off to boarding school during my teen years. Letting a woman into your life at 31 is one thing. Letting in her teen-age daughter should have earned you a medal of honor.
I wasn’t a horrible kid, but I didn’t make your life easy. Who can forget the “Mr. and Mrs. Highness” debacle and the constant eye-rolling I did when you asked me to do chores.

I see that same eye roll in my own stepchildren and all I can say is: I’m sorry. Really, really sorry.
I owe my housekeeping and work ethic to you. If my stepkids turn out anything like me, they’ll have the cleanest houses in their counties, too.

Thank you for marrying my mom and thank you for my brother and sister. I really, truly couldn’t imagine life without any of you.

When Mom calls to tell me you’re all trying to get home in bad winter weather, I genuinely stress that you won’t make it home. I don’t know what I do without you in my life.

I wouldn’t know who to take my most personal stepparent questions to. You are the True North of my stepparent life. Without complaint, you contributed your life savings to my college, my braces, and even my near-bankruptcy.

If you didn’t like doing it, I never knew. You never made me feel like I owed you something in return like I’m afraid I do to my own stepkids.

Stepdad, you’re one of the five best things that’s ever come into my life.

Thank you…for everything.
I love you,
Your Stepdaughter

~ by Stepfamily Letter Project on January 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “Dear Stepdad”

  1. This is the kind of letter or even feeling I dream of hearing from my stepkids. I only hope that I have made an ounce of the difference that this stepdad did in the stepdaughter’s life.

  2. last summer i was in a never ending fight with my stepdad until i finally beat his ass…i was praised, “good job.”, “glad you did it, im happy for you and your mom.” that was all i heard.

    3 years of no talking

    6 months of fighting and being taught he was lower then dirt

    2 weeks after he was arrested my mom was calling him on the phone.

    now im yelled at by my mom, the same person he called a fucking whore, for telling him to go fuck himself and hanging up when he calls

    life’s a bitch, i do not show any of my home problems at school.

    Im what some consider a “jock” no one in my school has gone through half of what i have.

    This is to all the people who take life to seriously, relax and enjoy life.

    quit bitching about your problems and cutting your wrists

    be happy you get to live everyday, spread joy dont murder it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 90 other followers

